Nervous and Excited

Standard

It’s been a while since I posted last. I’ve been super busy with school this last week, but I have a little time today.

Tonight is my last night in the evening intensive outpatient program where I’ve been attending the last 11 weeks. I’m very excited to have the extra time during the week. I’m also nervous to be discharging. I have a history of being in and out of treatment and not being able to sustain my recovery and I worry that without the extra support, I will fall back into old habits.

However, I also know I’m in a much better place this time and have picked up some really good skills and I’m stronger than I’ve ever been before. A part of me believes that I can keep up with recovery even without the EIOP. I hope this is true. I really want this time to be different.

13 responses »

  1. Congratulations on completing the program, I know it wasn’t always easy for you. Yes you are stronger for having gone through this experience, but that doesn’t mean you still couldn’t use help from time to time. Perhaps you can find a local support group with people going through the same recovery process. It can’t hurt to have someone that has gone through, is going through the same difficulties, feelings and thoughts to talk to.

    Wishing you all the best….I know you can do this!!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I wish the best, a good mental & physical health, I know too much how it feels to live with an illness that you want to control and cure at last after years and years. All the best Dear you.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. It must have seemed an eternity when you first started the program, but now I bet it seems that the time might have flown…strange right?! I believe in you and can’t wait to find out what happens next. God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m glad to see you back on!

    Recovery? You’ve shown a great deal of strength and resilience so far. A few stumbles, but you get right back to it! What if you continue with the artwork? Say, you “owe yourself” 2 drawing a week over a success or a stumble or whatever is happening.

    Just keep using the tools you’ve learned. It’ll give you other things to focus on and gain strength with the continual practice.

    I believe in you!!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. have you yet determined what events, feelings, habits, or whatever may have caused the “backslides” (for lack of a better word) in the past? possibly you can proactively prepare for them now??

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation

