Post-ER Update

Standard

As you may have read, last night I was in a lot of pain in my side and stomach. I ended up going to the ER for it. The ran X-rays and a CT scan with contrast and labs and decided the pain was from inflammation in my abdomen, probably from all the purging I’ve  been doing lately, and from a cyst on my kidney. I’m supposed to follow up with my regular doctor for an MRI of the cyst and further treatment. However, my regular doctor is on maternity leave, so I’m going to have to see someone else. I’m not looking forward to that.

They gave my morphine at the ER to bring down the pain. It was awful. It made me dizzy and nauseous and feel like my nerves were raw. I’ve long ago realized that narcotics and I don’t get along. I just don’t handle them well. However, it did it’s job and I got some zofran for the nausea and the other symptoms passed after a bit and before long I was feeling well enough to go home. I spent, overall, about 4 and a half hours there.

I am feeling a lot better today. Still a little pain, but not like I was in last night.

7 responses »

  1. I read once that eating disorders were about needs. Chronic over eating = I have needs, but they can never be met. Anorexia = I have no needs. Bulimia = I have needs, but I’m ashamed of them.
    You have been through an unbelievably tough time, and in a messed up way bulimia is about trying to love yourself, but it is messed up. Time to love yourself with that flame thrower of your heart sweetie, be kind to yourself, be kind to your body, because otherwise you’re just picking up where he left off.
    Writing is a far more satisfying way to binge and purge.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A slippery slope. To want to get better but always have a small voice inside saying “What if I do and nothing changes?”. I’m worried about your kidneys. After going in to Kidney Failure myself I can tell you it is no fun. Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m proud of you seeking medical help. It is one small way to take care of yourself. I’m sorry your kidneys are giving you trouble. I can truly relate. I have had kidney troubles my whole life. (I was born with an enlarged kidney) I can truly understand your pain. I have found Heat (i.e. Heating pads and hot baths) to be helpful, but be careful w/ a hot bath cause that can significantly drop BP, and Sleeping w/ pillows under my knees helps. (it takes the pressuure off your back) Hoping you recover quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation

