Quite the day

Standard

Today, I got a jury summons. I’ve only received one before and wasn’t able to go. Normally, I would be excited to “do my civic duty”. However, you have to disclose whether you’ve ever been convicted of a crime. Here I’m going to let you in on a secret. I used to shoplift binge/purge food about 7 years ago. I was caught and arrested and scared straight. I really don’t want to disclose to people that I have to see in person that I used to steal. It’s embarrassing. I’m ashamed that I did it. I wish I could change it, but obviously, I can’t. So I feel repetitious about my jury summons.

In more exciting news, I bought a bike today! I also bought a new board game! So it was a very full day.

10 responses »

  1. We’ve all done something in our past to be ashamed of but if we learn, move on and let go, it can’t hurt us anymore. You don’t know those people and will never see them again… so speak up loudly and proudly and move on. ~bridgette

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I know the trouble you are in, I was caught shoplifting once. Of course I claimed it was my first time…mother-of-all lies. But it was a long time before I could go back in that place without wondering who was watching me and if they suspected I was trying something.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Man, I remember when I was in treatment when I was 16 at some lame ass eating disorder unit half way on the other side of the country, I used to go to the small and shoplift small goods, im not sure why, an act of rebellion I guess..I never got caught..but yeh. thought id share that with you..have never shoplifted since!

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation

