Not Everyone Is Beautiful

Standard

This made me really sad, because deep down, I want to believe that I can one day be beautiful. But I agree with him.

Mindless Productivity

Every two or three days, I see an article or blog post or forwarded inspirational quote about beauty. It’s usually something affirming like

“You are beautiful, whether you know it or not.”

“We are all beautiful.”

“Everyone is beautiful to somebody.”

It’s cheerful stuff. It builds the self-esteem, makes people feel valued, and spreads joy and happiness across the internet.

It’s also bullshit.

And you know it’s bullshit, because you really wanted to laugh at that video.

Everyone is not beautiful. Some people have tumors the size of a second head growing out of their ears. Some people have skin like the Michelin man. Some people lose fingers, legs, or eyes in horrific assembly-line machine accidents. People have warts and blemishes and hair loss and dead teeth and lazy eyes and cleft palates and third nipples and unibrows.

There are plenty of people that are not physically appealing to look at, the…

View original post 727 more words

2 responses »

  1. I agree that the word beautiful is overused, and therefore has lost some of it’s meaning. But when I feel beautiful, which is a very rare experience, is when I can truly see myself. It could be a time when I’ve gotten all dressed up, took time to do makeup, and did something special with my hair, or it could be when I’m exhausted from a long day doing the things I love, dressed in my favorite jeans and hoodie watching the sunset, or it could be somewhere in between. The most important factor for me to feel beautiful is to feel like it’s okay to just be me, when all the negative voices in my head are too quiet to hear. Just hold onto whatever makes you feel beautiful and try to remember that feeling.

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation

