What color are your eyes?

Standard

Would you believe me if I said that I didn’t know what color my eyes were until yesterday?

How is this possible, you ask? Well, I avoid looking at myself in the mirror like the plague. I don’t wear makeup, and I usually do my hair without the aid of a mirror. When I do use a mirror, I look only at the spot I need to do my hair, and then leave as quickly as possible.

Growing up, I had blue eyes. On my ID, it lists my eye color as blue. However, my eyes are most definitely green. Not blue-green, not some combination, but really and truly green. My mom said that all of her children who had blue eyes as children (which is 4) have changed to green, grey, or hazel over time.

Well, that’s pretty much the whole point of this point. I just found it odd that I didn’t even know my own eye color.

2 responses »

  1. I only found out when I was in school and someone commented on it in the context of an exercise we were doing in class.

    Like you, I rarely look in the mirror to check my appearance. I remember in my first job I would get dressed in the dark and sometimes go to work wearing one blue and one black shoe. The styles were the same as I had them custom made. I find it odd that I never turned the light on and look in the mirror, or even look down at my shoes.

    I have seen a documentary where an elephant looks into a mirror and starts to preen itself in a way that suggests it is self aware. And I have wondered if I lacked that self awareness?

    Really curious.

    Like

Join the conversation

