“What have you been up to?”

Standard

I got a text from a friend earlier asking how I am and what I’ve been up to. I always hate being asked what I’ve been up to.

“Oh, you know, binging and purging since I woke up, dissolving laxatives in water to make them work faster, trying to put together my exercise bike so I can go back to obsessing over exercise, etc, and so on and so forth…”

I’m not telling them that.

“Oh, you know…studying…watching Netflix…”

That’s partially true. I watch Netflix sometimes when I binge.

“Well, I robbed a bank last week. It wasn’t for the money, it was just for the thrill of it. Now I freak out whenever I hear sirens. You??”

Seriously, I just never know how to respond to this.

10 responses »

  1. I tried dissolving lacing water, I could stand the taste or how it made my mouth feel 😖

    I never know how to respond either! Especially when at a buffet and people ask how I eat so much :/

    Like

    • “Because I’ve stretched my stomach by extraordinary amounts by binging and purging all the time, and also, when I went to the bathroom a minute ago, I threw up what I just ate.” That’s how I respond.
      (I don’t)

      Like

      • “(I don’t)”?? I can’t be honest like that, I’m afraid they will kick me out or charge me more Bahahaha. And then I feel like they’d follow me to the bathrooms lol

        Like

  2. I used to hate being asked this too. But I am honest about my trek down recovery lane.
    It helps not that I can also talk about the meetup.com groups I attend.
    It’s quite a contrast to the isolated and boring me that never did anything other than pursue my obsessions of sex and shopping.
    I talk about the tv shows I have watched and the books I have read.
    I still don’t lead the exciting lives that others seem to lead but it’s much better than it used to be.
    So long as things are proceeding in the right direction I am happy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can really relate to this. I just stare at them, thinking, “You think you want to know but you really don’t want to know. You’ll feel awkward and uncomfortable after. You won’t know what to say or do. And then you’ll either ask me about my eating disorder every single time we chat from here on out or you’ll disappear from my life while I ‘sort myself out'”.

    It’s easier not to start.

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation

